weighing in

Here it is…and I’m sorry to have to do it, but I just NEED to address this; it’s my turn to weigh in on the issues surrounding dancers and body image.

Little known fun-fact about yours truly, I’ve been hefty, skinny and all shades of grey in between. On a scale from Like It—Love It—Gotta Have It, when it comes to food, I GOTTA HAVE IT…at all sizes! I love food, and there are definitely days that I have lived to eat rather than eaten to live.  (I may have put myself to bed once at 5:00pm just so that I would stop eating and could instead feast my thoughts on breakfast the next morning…but that’s another story for another day…) I’m not sorry.

If there’s anything that I’ve learned over the years, it’s that skinny is not synonymous with happy or even necessarily fit; and really, if you’re using the term skinny in the first place…we’ve got bigger issues to address.  To me, “skinny” implies an unhealthy lifestyle of crash dieting (consisting of fake-processed foods full of chemicals and additives), diet soda, and a big gust of air to wash all that fun down. Instead, what we should all be focused on is pursuing a healthy lifestyle of balance, awareness, and of course glitter.

Errbody needs food to live…we all literally GOTTA HAVE IT!!!

Now I’m not here saying that all dancers have eating disorders (like what??? that can’t be fun?), but I will say that when you spend the majority of your day, every single day, in minimal clothing standing in front of full length mirrors, you can’t help but compare yourself to everyone else standing around in those same full length mirrors…

Cue the body-bashing:

My thundies (…thunder-thighs…) look huge today, I wish my stomach was flatter, I’m so huge, I should not have had that bagel this morning, no more carbs this semester…you fatty-boom-batty!!!

Would you say this to a five-year old girl???? THEN DO NOT SAY THIS TO YOURSELF!!!

As a dancer, the pressure to fit a “mold” can exist, and shifts depending on where you’re looking for work. It can definitely add a thick haze of consuming-insecurity, especially for real-bodied dancers (like myself) that are also trying to make it out there in the real world. So what do you do?

You wake up, smell the full-fat vanilla chai latte, and accept that you’re a normal, healthy person in society!!! You learn to cook delicious meals that are made from real food and real ingredients, and you do your research to learn about your body’s needs and how you can meet them. Most importantly,  you step off of the scale, DYVA!!!  You’re body is fully capable of making beautiful art, curves and all!

Tune in to how your clothes fit and feel, how your skin and nails look, how you’re sleeping, and what your general energy levels are like on a day-to-day basis. Redefining what it mean’s to be healthy requires a mindful-participant that’s willing to slow down and listen to what his or her body is actually saying, and as dancers, we should already fit this mold.

Now most of the dancers I know and love share my passion for food, and truly do enjoy it…in moderation. Not everybody is built the same, and it would be awfully boring if we were. As I’m finding on my own journey, the key to happiness and health is embracing whatever body you were blessed with and treating it….or rather, YOURSELF like a goddess, because why would you deserve anything less? Just some food for thought

Skinny Bitch is sooooo 2008, I nominate 2012 as the year of

HEALTHY BITCHES.

Enjoy your latte.

**I may be biased as a fellow-Spartan, but check out this blog by Rachel Wilkerson: She’s a real girl with a real body, and she isn’t afraid to use real-talk to discuss her journey. I’m borderline obsessed, and think that you’ll be too.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “weighing in

  1. You know, I have to tell you, I really enjoy this blog and the insight from everyone who participates. I find it to be refreshing and very informative. I wish there were more blogs like it. Anyway, I felt it was about time I posted, Ive spent most of my time here just lurking and reading, but today for some reason I just felt compelled to say this.

Leave a Reply

